Wisconsin Legislature Passes Dane County Town Zoning Law

February 17, 2016

The Wisconsin Legislature has passed 2015 AB 563, which will allow towns located in Dane County to withdraw from County supervision relating to zoning and subdivision. The towns that decide to opt out will develop a common zoning ordinance, and will control land use and subdivision approvals without Dane County review. Dane County towns will first be allowed to withdraw from county control in 2017 and every three years thereafter. The Governor is expected to sign the Dane County Towns Zoning bill into law. This legislation resulted from tension between towns that wish to expand their tax base through development and Dane County. This legislation will be a significant change to the development process in those towns that decide to “opt out” of Dane County zoning.