Axley Announces Addition of Two New Attorneys

January 26, 2023

Madison, Wis – Axley is excited to announce the addition of Attorneys James Lenahan II and Christopher Nelson. Attorney Lenahan joins the firm’s Waukesha Office in the Business Practice Group while Attorney Nelson joins the firm’s Madison Office in the Litigation and Municipal Practice Groups.

Attorney Lenahan focuses his practice in the areas of general business, business planning, taxation, securities, acquisition and sales of businesses, intellectual property, and real estate transactions.  Additionally, Attorney Lenahan assists clients with their various estate planning needs. Before joining Axley, Attorney Lenahan worked for a global consulting firm as a Senior Associate.  Focusing on indirect tax, Attorney Lenahan supported his publicly traded clients with tax controversy and tax audit defense services.  Independent from the global consulting firm, Attorney Lenahan performed contract drafting, contract dispute, and legal compliance services to a local small business. Attorney Lenahan’s experience working with small businesses and supporting Fortune 500 clients provides him with a unique perspective across a wide range of business matters while understanding the importance of providing timely, cost-effective legal services to his clients.

Attorney Nelson is a magna cum laude graduate of William Mitchell College of Law. He works with municipalities, schools, businesses, and individuals in the areas of municipal law, eminent domain, land use, insurance defense, school law, and general civil litigation. He has worked extensively with local governments, advising on and litigating matters from assessments to zoning disputes. Prior to joining Axley, Attorney Nelson managed the Civil Municipal Law Department at a Minnesota firm, where he served as general counsel for municipalities in both Minnesota and Wisconsin and represented clients in civil actions, land use and development, and employment matters. Super Lawyers® named Attorney Nelson a Rising Star for State and Local Government for 2021-2022.